“Óia” o Mazzaropi e os irmãos Garfunkel nos “istates”!

Sério: tive dificuldade em acessar os “links” (ou melhor, não consegui acessá-los), porém foi desse endereço eletrônico que acessei o Museu Mazzaropi, inserido anteriormente. 

Thursday, June 6, 2002

Mazzaropi and the Garfunkels

In Com Pacto Duplo, Jean and Paulo
Garfunkel sing a hymn to nostalgia.
 

Nothing gives me as much pleasure as finding connections where they are least expected. The comic actor Amácio Mazzaropi (1912–1981), screen personification of the crafty caboclo Jeca Tatu, made an appearance in these pages earlier this week, and here he is again.
Mazzaropi
(Jean & Paulo Garfunkel)
Calça na canela borzeguim
Um bigodinho de pó de café
Era o sertão lá no telão da matinê
E o povo todo sendo o Jeca com você
Era uma coisa divertida de se ver.
Pra ser um palhaço
Um carlito, um caipira
No grande circo da vida
Tem que ser louco e não ser
E o povo todo sendo o Jeca com você
Era uma coisa muito linda de se ver.
Saco de pipoca, amendoim
Mais a Rosinha de braço dado
Era nós três das quatro as seis
No cine Roque
Era teu filme o nosso sonho Mazzaropi
Era uma coisa brasileira dando IBOPE.
Pra ser um palhaço…

You can listen to Jean & Paulo Garfunkel’s 5-minute live recording of this moving toada in the anthology UMES Cantarena 1. Opening their recent CD Com Pacto Duplo, the brothers’ studio version is even better.
A little masterpiece, “Mazzaropi” has been recorded several times before—by the Garfunkels with César Brunetti and Celso Viáfora, by Pena Branca e Xavantinho (twice), and by Trovadores Urbanos. In Com Pacto Duplo the song is arranged as a vocal duet with guitar and clarinet accompaniment that pays tribute not only to the actor but to Nino Rota (whose “Amarcord” theme is quoted) and to Angelino de Oliveira’s “Tristeza do Jeca” (listen to part of Ney Matogrosso’s recording).
Like the Garfunkels, Mazzaropi was a city-bred paulista who took on a caipira persona. He was also a good singer who included songs in his movies, including “Tristeza do Jeca” in the eponymous film of 1961.
In a Web chat last year, Jean Garfunkel said: “My music is above all a love declaration to Brazilian song, including various genres from waltz to rock ’n roll, and I don’t imitate those who came before but try to seek the same thing they sought. […] I think that rock is part of our history, like chorinho, maxixe, and forró. At present I’m more for maxixe.”
The songwriter’s declaration is borne out by Com Pacto Duplo, a disc featuring a variety of musical styles (although heavy on the country accent) with arrangements by Roberto Lazzarini, Sizão Machado, Bocato, and Mozar Terra. A good distance away from “Mazzaropi” is “Yara,” an ethereally romantic song that progresses from a dreamy opening reminiscent of “Baubles, Bangles and Beads” into a vaguely oriental creation in Francine Lobo’s astonishing voice.
Yara Yara Yá
Vem soltar os teus cabelos
Se mirar
No espelho transparente
Destas águas
Luas e alvoradas
No seu corpo de sereia
Yara do Amapá
Grande rio, verde mata
Azul do céu
O teu reino é belo e pleno
De mistérios
Entre os hemisférios
Onde a vida floresceu
[…]
The beautifully restrained “Por Toda Vida” poetically expresses all the ups and downs of a love affair:
Foi quando um raio de luar
Riscou um sim no seu olhar
Chamei por mim mas nem olhei pra trás
Fiquei assim como se o mar
Me convencesse a naufragar
Vi meu veleiro se afastar do cais
Aconteceu de acontecer
Inferno e céu
Medo e poder
Você e eu
Eu e você
[…]
Jean sings, accompanied by Yamandú Costa (7-string guitar), Mozar Terra (piano and arrangement), Paulo Garfunkel (bass clarinet, clarinet, and G flute), Prata (Bandolim, flute, and G flute), Sizão Machado (bass), and Francine Lobo (vocalese).
“Maxixe da Neuza” is the kind of hilariously boisterous tune Mazzaropi might have sung. Paulo G. gives it all the right vocal nuances:
Minha Neuza me mandou embora
Ai ai chorei
Ai chorei que nem que
Se tivesse cascado cebola
E não casquei
Se eu soubesse eu ficava com a Aurora
Arrependi
Justo a Neuza está honesta
Ela está costurando fora
E logo vi
E logo vi
Eu logo virei bicho do mato
Virei a mesa quebrei os pratos
Virou-se a Neuza e me deu um sopapo
Eu caí de quatro
E ela disse assim
Dando ultimatum pra mim
“Arreda o pé daqui seu Merda
Vê se te enxerga e queima o chão
Que eu não tô pra vagabundo
Pondo banca de patrão
Vá curar tua tristeza
Com canjibrina no lombo
Vá procurar outras Neuzas
Na Bósnia Herzegovina
Ou no Congo
Que tu é, um homem ou um camundongo?”
E o que será que eu respondo?

Another fine vocalist, Ana Amélia, steps in to sing the brief “Má Água,” a lyrical song in the Villa-Lobos line, with an arrangement for piano, cello, and clarinet:
Água parada
Má Água
Mágoa
Estagnada essa tristeza
Escura
E o olho d’água que espelhava a lua
Agora turva refletindo
Nada
Nada

And there’s more: the humorous samba “Dois Cachorro”; “Boi Tatá,” with a long bass solo by Sizão Machado; and the reflective “Em Suma” that closes the disc on the songwriters’ summation of life:
Uma a uma
A vida carregou minhas paixões
Luzes se apagaram
Sonhos soçobraram
Em suma so sobraram canções
[…]

The Garfunkels won Fampop 1985 with “Filhos do Sol”
Garfunkel & Garfunkel: Com Pacto Duplo
(Rainbow Records RR-RG 010/01; 2001) 41:45 min.
01. Mazzaropi (Jean & Paulo Garfunkel)
02. Tio Barnabé (Jean & Paulo Garfunkel)
03. Yara (Jean & Paulo Garfunkel)
04. Banzo (Jean & Paulo Garfunkel)
05. Lua de Erê (Jean & Paulo Garfunkel)
06. Boi Marruá (Jean Garfunkel/Oswaldo Viana)
07. Por Toda Vida (Jean Garfunkel)
08. Maxixe da Neuza (Jean & Paulo Garfunkel)
09. Má Água (Paulo Garfunkel)
10. Dois “Cachorro” (Jean & Paulo Garfunkel)
11. Boi Tatá (Jean Garfunkel)
12. Em Suma (Jean & Paulo Garfunkel)
__________________________

Daniella Thompson on Brazil

